Liberty!

I left the campsite late this morning and made two stops on my way home. The first one was to visit the Roman Ampitheatre which is very close to the campsite.  I’ve been to the campsite 4 times but this is the first time I have visited the amphitheatre.  See first Extra.  It is believed to have been built in the 2nd century when Corinium (the original name of the town) was second only in importance to London. With a capacity of 8000 spectators, the amphitheatre is one of the largest examples from Roman Britain.  It is oval in shape and had two entrances.  It was identified as a Roman amphitheatre in 1780 and excavations took place in the 1960s. I walked around the outside and along the top of the amphitheatre walls, which included a view of the town and the Abbey in the distance.  I talked to a local resident who was out walking his dog and he said that they used to have great fun as kids sledding down the inside slopes of the amphitheatre walls.  

There is also a limestone obelisk at the entrance to the area, which is believed to date from the 18th Century.  It is 15m (50 feet) high and it may have marked the boundary of the Bathhurst Estate and Cirencester Park.

It was a short walk before leaving Cirencester, and I then drove on to Hungerford where I had my second blipmeet in 3 days!  This time I was meeting C, aka ‘Cherryflapjack'.  We met for the first time last September, when I was in Cirencester last time, so I was looking forward to seeing her again.  We met at Barr’s Yard in Hungerford - a Garden Art and reclamation yard, I suppose, with a few other small businesses.  It was HUGE!  After I was treated to lunch, we walked around and looked at lots of amazing statues, structures, urns, most of which cost more money than the deposit to my first house, or indeed more than any car I have ever bought!  

I saw the Stature of Liberty in the distance and I just knew it had to be my quirky blip for today.  The crane made a very convenient addition to the picture.  I would have brought her home, except for the price tag (and she wouldn’t have fit in Alfie!).  See second Extra for a few more views from Barr’s Yard.

Besides being a lovely friend, C was kind enough to give me a very special gift. C loves to cook and bake, and occasionally she blips what she makes, creating beautiful foodie blips.  I’ve particularly loved seeing her sourdough bread creations, so I was absolutely delighted when she brought me a loaf, and so beautifully presented too.  See third and fourth Extras.  Not only beautiful, but delicious - I easily ate a large portion when I got home, accompanying my snack dinner. 
Thank you, C!

See C's blip from today here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.