KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Quiet Sunday

After a nice walk in Arboretum this morning (where it was drizzling a bit) I spent the rest of my day getting ready to teach this week. I still have a lot to do but have made great progress. I'm thinking of "taking" the students out to my garden during our Zoom meeting tomorrow morning if I can figure out how to do that...and without losing the WiFi of course. I'm trying to figure that out....

Meanwhile, a fun plant blooming in the garden right now - Allium 'Medusa'. It's not in full bloom yet - perhaps I jumped the gun a bit, but this is an ornamental onion that has snaky, twisty leaves - named after Medusa of course. In Greek mythology she was the most famous of the monsters known as Gorgons. She was usually represented as a winged female creature having a head of snakes, and often she was portrayed as being very beautiful. The nodding buds of 'Medusa' look like snake heads at the tips of the stems before they straighten up to form their flower heads. 

Great plants for a garden in full sun, deer and rabbit resistant and attracts pollinators. The bruised foliage smells like onions, but not as strong as a chive.  USDA hardiness 4-8 - eventually it will reach about 2' tall and wide. 

Hope you all had lovely weekends! I'm hoping to sit with my laptop tonight and catch up with your journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.