KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Gorgeous Day....and a New Computer!

What an absolutely lovely day it was....no marine layer this morning...we woke to brilliant sunshine and blue skies The temperature was in the mid-70s F (24C) and a lovely breeze. 

I "took" my Zoom plant class out to my garden this morning. I realized that one of the worst things about teaching plant ID remotely is not actually going over the plants with the students (and of course building relationships with them). So I used my phone to dial up the Zoom meeting and "met" with them on the porch of my potting shed. We went through many of the plants that we've been studying over the past few weeks. I think they liked seeing the weeds and snails and slug damaged hostas. But they also really liked seeing the plants in the garden. And I felt terrific afterwords...like I'd really made some good connections. So we'll do that from now on unless we have a visitor.

A quick game of golf and then arrived home to find that my new iMac had been delivered. I'm thinking of Energia as I sit here migrating my old computer to the new one because she had so many struggles. Fingers crossed, although it's been "stuck"on 4 hours and 12 minutes remaining for the last half hour. Sigh. I'm not very patient.

Meanwhile, the garden continues to unfold in the warm sunny summer. Today's blip is of an unknown cultivar of Crocosmia. I've had this plant for a while, but I seem to have finally moved it to a place where it's happy since it's now about to bloom. I love these plants, to a point....I dug out a huge red one last spring since it was taking over the garden. They are a commitment for sure. And if this one gets too happy, it will find a new home too. But for now, covered in a fine mist of dew, it's awfully pretty, don't you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.