Laundry day Monday

Hubby had an appointment at the surgery for bloods so had to get up early. :- )) which meant I got to do the laundry early & out on the line. Housework etc. done by 10am. Time to hit the plot. I'd promised a cake to Alan & Judith on the site, I'd made 2 so sampled a slice for breakfast just to be on the safe side, especially as I'd tweaked the recipe just a bit!!!! It got my seal of approval, of course it was a nightmare to wrap, blimming selotape would'nt stick to the greaseproof paper. A parcel tied with string, no time to find fancy ribbon.
Everything got a good watering, then Alan arrived & informed there was rain forecast for the afternoon. Well it might not be much. It was'nt eiher really, probably would'nt have reached under the leaves of the squash. Next job, cut back the broad beans plants, leaving the roots in the ground, the nitrogen fixing bacteria in the nodules on their root system boost nitrogen levels in the soil. I weeded & dug over the two patches cleared. I'll plant brassicas & leeks in those two beds. Leek seedlings I have, brassicas I need to source. Need to get purple sprouting seed sown a.s.a.p. The bamboo canes & string that I used to support the beans in a bit of a tangle but I cracked on with my next job after I slurped my cold coffee. Sitting in front of the shed looking across the plot I spotted the tomato trusses & thought they might make a Blip, today's challenge being together. Well I thought they looked lovely together, can't wait to sample them once ripe. These are the variety, unknown, incidently that should be growing in the greenhouse. Well they're looking fairly happy so I'm not disappointed with my beginners error.
Got to crack on. Hubby arrived with the bag of garden waste that I'd forgotten to stop & pick up outside our side gate. Ops! With a few jobs left to do I asked if he could bring my lunch up to the plot. Lunch arrived at 1pm by when I'd lifted beetroot, cut courgettes, added some cardboard padding to the wire support for the Japanese squash. A few of the fruits are growing against the wire, one I noticed already damaged so hopefully wrapping cardboard over the wire will prevent any further damage. I topped up the composter, no room for the broad bean stalks, I need to start the third bin. I picked the gooseberry bush clean, vicious thing.  Took the netting off the blackcurrant bush, just set myself up with my stool, upturned bucket, when it started to rain. Job abandoned I retired  to the shed & began untangling the bean string.  The rain did'nt last long so I was able to pick all the fruit on the blackcurrant. Next job pruning the soft fruit, but that's a job for later in the week. Enough for today.
Thanks to 60plus for hosting MonoMonday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.