Clematis wilt?

The beautiful flowers on the clematis 'Princess of Wales' were looking very sorry for themselves, & when I followed the stem back down the plant it was all dead, so I removed it. It looks as though there are seed, so I saved it. Another challenge. I've never tried to germinate clematis seed, Mum has though so I'll have to ask her, or maybe give her the seed. The other seed are pot marigold, nasturtium, & erodium. I love the cream, pink & green in the faded rose bloom but the petals are always distorted. It was one of 5 stems given to me as a pot plant by an old school friend back when I was very poorly. I grew the cuttings on into mature plants, I don't seem able to get rid of the plants. The attachment too strong. The 'I love ... ' pice of flip flop I found on the beach in Thailand many years ago.
A fairly lazy day today, I met a friend up on the plot for a picnic lunch. A lovely two plus hours catching up. She's very planty, has a very productive  fruit & veg patch at her cottage. She's been furloughed, & no sign of gong back to work as yet. She brought me some plant goodies plus a pot of Autumn Fruits cheese, I gave her some of my plants plus a pot of courgette, orange, & hazelnut chutney. The plants will be perfect additions to my back garden. A gloriously sunny day, I stayed and watered some of my plants after she left, picked some peas, pulled some rhubarb, then headed home.
I made a couple of rhubarb & custard cakes, tweaking the recipe quite a lot, & adding a streusel topping. They're baked, & look good but whether they taste good remains to be seen. I'll have to sample it in the morning, as I want to give one cake to Alan & Judith up on the allotment site.
Roast pork for dinner tonight. Potatoes, peas, asparagus peas, broad beans, carrots, & beetroot leaves all from my plot, & gooseberry sauce in place of apple.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.