Monty was right

when he said if a clematis gets wilt to cut it right back, then it will flower on the new growth. This is the second year it's happened. It's such a beauty when it does flower, it was in the garden when we took over the house so I'm not certain of the variety but I think it's probably 'The President'. It's a stunner anyway. Oh, and it's blue not pink, that makes a nice change does'nt it. LOL!!
Early start this morning, drove down to a pond on the outskirts of CK to get some pond weed for the "pond", well it's hardly a pond but it does have 2 goldfish hanging out in it. Then the Coop, I was there by 7.25. Last time I tried to buy alcohol early morning I had to wait until 8am. I asked on the off chance this morning .. yes I can now.. Whoop whoop!! Cider purchased, next stop Pixiewood for eggs, then back to Mum's with a piece of plyboard, the perfect size to cover an opening in the garage where I removed a pane of glass yesterday that was hanging dangerously loose. Plyboard was ideal, just need to work out how I'm going to fix it in place.
Home again I stopped to pick up the plastic pots that I'd accrued, they need cleaning before reusing. A few jobs to do on the plot. Trim the bottom leaves off the tomato plants, to increase airflow, then comfrey tea feed time. Some lovely trusses forming. Fed the runner beans, French beans, courgettes,  butternut squash, & Japanese squash. A couple of the Patty Pan custard squash fruits are resting on the soil so tucked some cardboard underneath to keep them clean & hopefully away from slugs. Gave everything else a good watering. Swapped 3 lovely lettuce, a crop I've got growing between a block of sweetcorn, for some spring onions & a handful of French beans from Jim. The lettuce were surplus seedlings from someone on the site. Another 2 rows planted between the peas are'nt growing quite as well. Interesting, this companion planting. I picked more courgettes ... No surprise there. Second composter is full now, time to start the third. Flower spikes forming on the gladioli I planted in the Spring.
After lunch I added more bling to the garden table. The glitter did'nt stick to the Hammerite as hoped so I applied this sprinkling with PVA glue. I've even blinged my knee, not sure how that happened.  I pruned the remainder of the Salix Mt. Aso, adding more cuttings to my pot of water. Cut the lower leaves from the tomato plants in the greenhouse, fruits forming nicely.
I made another courgette, lemon & poppy seed drizzle cake. That's 2 courgettes less, 4 to go. I'm thinking quiche ............ or Chudleigh Community fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.