Look out Sainsbury's

Mum & I were making a visit. Mum's first outing out into the big wide world since Covid19 lock down. I could tell she was anxious when I picked her up in the car, but I did'nt say a word. We just chatted about allsorts as we always do. No queue to enter the supermarket, we entered, I used the sanitizer, for the handle on the trolley, then my hands. Mum squirted the sanitizer on a piece of hand towel, then started cleaning the sides of the trolley. Erm!!!! "Don't get carried away, we only need to sanitize the handle ... ".  Our retail experience went very smoothly. Not too many customers, shopping lists completed. Once back in the car Mum told me how she nearly rang me to cancel the shopping trip. I'm pleased she did'nt., that was after .............
I stripped the broad bean plants, pulled beetroot, & carrots. Picked peas plus the latest batch of courgettes. Asparagus peas! I watched a video a couple of weeks back, checking how & when to harvest the peas. The gardener summed it up "Asparagus peas, I've tried them, my son, a chef has tried them, they don't taste of anything, & to be perfectly honest with you, the best thing you can do is  rip them out and plant something else. The asparagus peas were introduced to GB in the 1500's & if they had been any good every veg patch would have them". They tasted good in a  salad, but that was in Thailand, not Chudleigh.
After the shopping trip I cut Mum's hair before heading back home for lunch. I requested some plastic plant pots on a local FB page .. I had 6 responses. 3 lots delivered to the house today, 2 lots collected by me, 1 more to go. That should be enough for a while. A job for tomorrow cleaning the pots ready for new cuttings. I took some cuttings of Salix Mt. Aso. The plant has gone bonkers, the new growth at least 3' in length, which needed taming. More new plants hopefully. I've put the cuttings in a pan of water they should produce roots in no time at all.
Hubby wanted to have a beer with his mates early evening so I dropped him off and popped to Mum's for a coffee. We sat outside enjoying the warmth of the late afternoon sunshine. 2 little jobs for me to do. Open the new bottle of cooking oil, & sort the Vax vacuum cleaner .. the roller was'nt rotating. No wonder, it had cord wrapped around it, not sure where it came from. A mystery. Picked hubby up, back home, another delivery of plastic plant pots outside the front door.
I love this  plant - pelargonium sidoides. I have 5 cuttings that live in 2 pots, they over winter in the greenhouse, then as soon as it's warm enough I bring them out. Gorgeous magenta flowers with velvety grey foliage.

Shirley Valentine on the tv. LOVE this film.

Thank to BikerBear/Anni for continuing to host Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.