Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Season's samples

My nephew's wife and her project manager stayed with me for two eve's as they had another day in Rotterdam's harbor for their research there. Both work in the field of environmental research; him as professor in Aberdeen and she as analyst in Athens. Due to the Brexit and Covid-19 crisis he's based in Germany since February and surely with our digital means of communication all that's reasonably fine.

Here on my balcony she's putting samples in the glass jars for research in the lab and I had to laugh coz I thought it typical that the professor didn't lend a hand at all, just talking and talking, while she, his help than, did all the practical and organising work.... she laughed with me when I told her what had struck me from their time here with me The three of us speak Greek together.

They're here for taking samples each Season of the year; last Spring was abondonned coz of the Corona-crisis and thus they'll be back here next Spring for collecting their samples of that Season then. Ofcourse I hope to see her, my nephew's wife and their little family, earlier than next Spring sometime in Athens again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.