Wide Wednesday: Worm's Eye View

I’m going to be an irritating pedant today (“What’s new?” you may ask!).

Worms don’t have eyes – which makes this blip challenge a tad tricky. But they do have light-sensitive cells with which they can tell light from dark and therefore, it is said, they can tell if they’re above or below ground (confusing at night though, I guess!).

So I’ve done my best to mock up a simulation of what a worm may “see” as it approaches the end of its wormhole, although even this probably exaggerates the quality of its "vision". (Photo taken by pointing the camera down the centre of a loo roll, with the lens very out of focus.)

Just to try to prove that I do have some imagination, and am not a total pedant, I’ve added an extra to suggest what a worm may see if it did have good vision – I’ve even assumed that it might be able to see in colour! (Taken with the fisheye lens with the camera under our purple Berberis shrub.)
 
Many thanks to Steveng for hosting Widwed again, and as always to Bobsblips for keeping the Widwed show on the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.