Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Red Deer Fawn

While I have been honing my field craft trying to approach the red deer herd in the fields near where I live, the herd at Chasewater Country Park has apparently been showing off to visitors walking around the heathland!

We only went up for a bit of exercise and I was quite chuffed when we saw a hind and her fawn in the distance, partly obscured by tall grasses.  It was only when we walked on that we saw two more hinds, each with a fawn near the footpath.  As we walked up they seemed completely unconcerned by our presence so I kept snapping away with the camera.  It was then the battery died and most unusually I didn't have a spare.  No matter, I just started to use the phone camera I was that close!  

All that effort over the past few weeks and I could have just headed up to the park instead.  I have to assume that the herd in the park have become that used to humans that they are quite comfortable being watched at close quarters.  The fawns even decided to lay down in front of us they were that comfortable with being watched.  Ah well I still take some pleasure in having captured some photographs of my local herd, who seem to vanish at the mere whiff of a human being.

Day Miles:  3.2 miles. Total Miles: 892.7 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.