Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Lot of Colour

A lorikeet, native of Australia, but in this case in an aviary at Twycross Zoo.

We had another day out, visiting the zoo partly to support them having been closed and lost revenue over the last year.  I'm always a little conflicted by these establishments, animals caged at the pleasure of the public.  I suppose one thing to say is that they were allowed to do what they wanted, rather than being pushed out on parade, or asked to perform.  It seems so outdated, though a lot is made of the conservation aspects of the operations.  It is shocking to see how many of the animals are at the wrong end of the conservation status, and that can't be down to the zoos.

It was a hot day and many of the animals were sheltering from the weather. We did similar finding shade when we could.  Wearing a face mask in this weather soon causes sweat to build up on my face, which was particularly uncomfortable.  I will be continuing to wear a mask in busy indoor spaces and public transport after Monday and many people I've spoken to have said the same.  Let's hope that things will settle down though I have my doubts that at some time restrictions will need to be re-imposed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.