The Harvest Begins...

Well it began a while ago with the strawberries and raspberries but from now it is full on.  Tony went off on the supermarket run first thing whilst I did several jobs indoors and watered the pots.  After lunch we went up to the allotment to pick the produce.  Tony dug up a potato plant, always magic because you never know what you are going to get.  Promisingly, there were a dozen very fine potatoes.  He also set about the first of the beans and broccoli, and picked the last of the raspberries whilst I made a start on the blackcurrants.  By the end of picking for the day we had 7lbs of blackcurrants and we had barely dented the fruit on the bushes.  Funnily enough I had just prepared the last of last year's blackcurrants for turning in to coulis to go on my porridge, yoghurt and ice cream - yum.   

Early evening we drove over to Jenny and Pete's village to go for a walk with Jen whilst Pete had his trumpet lesson.  She took us on a new to us, picturesque circuit and we caught up with stuff. I do miss being able to give her a hug.  Back at the car I arranged our first treat since we went in to lockdown all those months ago, fish and chips from the fisheries in the next village!  Did they just taste delicious because it is so long since we 'ate out'??

Oh and the Magnum in my blip?  My reward for picking!

I've just turned back a year to discover we had returned from our trip to Czech and I'd blipped the meadow.  It looks very different this time this year, perhaps I'll blip it tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.