Greasy Pole

We've had a sort of sea fret going on all day here so when squirrel tried to get back up from the sunflower feeder, he struggled on the wet hanger.  I wouldn't mind but we have a squirrel feeder attached to the trunk of the tree, unfortunately not all squirrels have a high IQ when it comes to using it.  The other day one was sitting on the lid trying to open it.

It was recorder practice first thing today and the challenging Gavotte and Ecossaise are coming along, just some homework with the slurs and the C# to do, and I get to try out a couple of tunes from my new book, yay!  Yesterday morning I listened to a very enjoyable Radio4 programme on the playing of the Brandenburg Concerto no.2 which is for oboe, recorder and trumpet, interesting to hear the ins and outs of preparing a piece for performance.

The Blue Barn birdfood delivery arrived so I filled up the 'impregnable' storage containers (hah!) and the feeders, then did a bit more clearing away upstairs.  Last night I came across a carrier bag of old documents which we inherited when we cleared a neighbour's house.  There was a newspaper cutting about how, in 1954, the local council had taken 23 residents on our street to court to exact payment for making up the road (which beforehand comprised of ashes thrown out by the householders).  The residents were given one month to each sort out the bit of road in front of their house (what?!) and their Counsel argued that this was a crazy idea.  An article submitted to the paper pointed out that; 'It is beyond comprehension why the Council should present the owners of the cottages with land that belongs to the Council and then charge them for making up the road.  It show the lax way of spending ratepayers' money and then endeavouring to cover up by placing the burden on the unlucky people.  These 38 dwellings could have been bought outright before the 1914-18 war for less money than has been spent on the road.'

This afternoon I ventured out in the sea fret to get a card from the garden centre.  I took my new face mask to try out and my glasses steamed up as soon as I entered the building!  There were folks around every corner and three in the small card section, so I followed the one way system and went straight out again, phew.   Hmmm, Tony had given me instructions to bring back chocolate, as he is chained to his laptop working on a powerpoint presentation, so it was a weird route choice up in to St Ives, down through the cricket field and back in to the safety of the PO for chocolate where Rekha gave me some advice about wearing a tissue under my eyes to prevent foggy glasses, we shall see (or not if it doesn't work).

Time for a cuppa then I will make a card on the internet to send, sorry garden centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.