Drosera

I headed out early this morning to Woodbury Common as I wanted to go back to the boggy area and take more shots of the sundew plants (Drosera) and other wild flowers.  It was a misty start to the day and I enjoyed wandering through the hill fort and down into the marshy areas.  The sun was beginning to break through and there was a smell of smoke in the air.  I settled down in a beautiful spot surrounded by Cotton grass, this yellow flower and a couple of old trees.  I was a little irritated by the smell of the smoke as it was such a lovely area but later learnt that there had been a large wood fire on an industrial estate some way away.  As the sun later came out the air cleared anyway.  There were lots of sundew plants along the edge of a small stream nearby and I spent some time photographing these, see extra. Although the plant isn't quite flowering I have included it in Flower Friday anyway, in fact I am thinking that some of the small pale buds I saw on them maybe flowers so I will have to return in a week or so to check that out. I was quite pleased that didn't get very wet during this process but on returning home via a different route I ended up having to cross a very boggy area and ended up with one wet boot and trouser leg.  An enjoyable morning though.

A little time was spent on the allotment in the afternoon, so much to do there.  Anyway the priority was to pick some of the blackcurrants and weed amongst the French beans, which I almost completed.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.