Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

You Shall Not Pass

On an afternoon walk along local footpaths we had started to head back on a circular route when we came across this obstacle.  While you might expect the vehicle gate to be locked at the weekend, so was the pedestrian gate on the right.  

I always get irritated when a local footpaths is obstructed or the furniture associated with crossing boundaries is allowed to deteriorate.  I don’t think I’ve come across a gate being locked with a padlock before.  Frustratingly we had to retrace our steps.

On getting home I checked the local county council’s website to confirm the footpath was still designated. It also allowed me to report the blockage.  My only worry is that with the reduction in funding to local authorities and other pressures on services currently being experienced, action may be a long time coming.  Maybe I need to keep a pair of bolt cutters in my rucksack.

Day Miles:  3.9 miles. Total Miles: 896.6 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.