Attack of the Mutant Acorns!

I've had oak marble gall wasps in my oak tree before now, but this year we have a new "friend", the knopper gall wasp... They lay their eggs into the oak flowers early in the season and as the acorn develops so does the larva, with a nice tasty acorn to eat. Doesn't appear to harm the tree, and there are many many acorns this year... Looks decidedly alien though.

Yes, Janet's home. Normally, you might send a testy invalid into hospital for some respite care. This time the tables are reversed, and I'm giving the nurses a day off... I've to get her back for seven and no later. It's like taking her out for the first time and promising good behaviour... I never did that... It's been a lovely day and we've eaten outside. She needs feeding up.

Tomorrow hopefully the plumbing will be unplugged, and life will return to whatever was normal - or what passes for normal in these times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.