KESR No25 Northiam passes Wittersham Road

The second day of the return to steam on the Kent and East Sussex Railway after the long shutdown since  February. A much reduced service with one train in steam making 2 return trips from Tenterden to Bodiam with no stops at intermediate stations. My first steamy blip for a good while.

As there was no need to cross trains at Wittersham I was there simply to work the gates which meant I could stand in different places to the usual balcony or signalbox shot. And anyway, unless I have a trainee with me I'm working the signals too.

I was expecting a quiet, uninterrupted day with trains every 45 minutes and a 3.00pm finish. In the event people came to see the trains come through and one of the signalling inspectors spent an hour in the box waiting for the Signal and Telegraph Manager to turn up so they could do some work on the telegraph wires.

The weather didn't play ball as it was both cold and wet especially in the afternoon, in complete contrast to yesterday's rather fine day. Still, it was a real pleasure to see steam run again, to be at the railway, see people riding the trains again and see how much people appreciated them running again.

We had no idea how popular the trains would be. I'd say they were about 1/3 occupied which I think was a good start. Where we go from here will depend on many factors not least any further outbreaks....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.