Back in the day there was a water trough here

on the obelisk in Conduit Square. The plaque above reads -'The drinking water was given by the late lamented Harriet, Dowager Countess of Morley, 1879'. Hard water supply on the left, Soft to the right. This supply was also joined to the Pot Water Leat supply. I've blipped a few of the Dipping pits before. The obelisk in Conduit Square is in the centre of Chudleigh.I photographed this early this morning before there were many folks about.
I was walking to the allotment, just to pick a feed of runner beans for dinner, when I bumped into Dora & her one eyed Jack Russell. WE were stood chatting when she asked if I'd  seen notice about horse manure up at the allotment. Nope I had'nt seen a notice. She started to explain when along came Maxine. Now I did'nt know it was Maxine, but I see this lady walking to & fro every day with two Jack Russells, one rough coated, one short hiared, plus a small plastic bucket .. Where was she going, she must have chickens or ..???? Is she heading towards the ??? or heading back ?? This morning I was introduced to Maxine who has ponies, goats, sheep & chicken, plus copious amounts of manure which she wishes to dispose of .. I now have her phone number, will make a notice and attach it to the entrance of the allotment site. Sheep poo is great for feeding tomato plants.. I'll give her a call tomorrow and arrange a visit. Then I headed off to the allotment. I picked runner beans, lots of, far more than a feed for two, French beans, yet more courgettes, and pulled some young beetroot. Had a lovely chat with Richard, then Jim arrived so had a quick chat with him ... then walked back with my allotment bounty. A late breakfast on my own ... husband still sulking. Fried potato with a fried egg. Yummy! Then spent a while tidying the front garden, picked up more nasty, vicious, spiky dried holly leaves. Oh, do they hurt!!! Planted a few more bits to get rid of pots. Sat in the sunshine to eat lunch & attempt the crossword. Faffed around with the seed heads I snipped off, Honesty, foxglove, &  Erodium. I need to plan the shed up at the allotment for seed drying as I need to space out the sweet pepper plants in the greenhouse.
Roast chicken tonight. I made a bacon, courgette & cheese quiche plus tartlets as I had pastry left over. They look good ... Proof of the pudding, or in this case quiche.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.