Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The saga continues ...

Darn. Woke today to find that my gum had swollen up again. Is it hypochondria or actual infection that made me instantly feel weary? It's at times like this that I miss being a child with a child's trust in a parent; my father always managed to sound reassuringly authoritative on health matters, despite his being no more qualified than I am (unless his 1st in English Language and Literature trumped my MA Ordinary ...). It's bothered me on and off all day, and I confess to feeling neglected by my normally wonderful dental practice in these abnormal times. If I could only see him in person ... Meanwhile, I'm pathetically grateful for the concern of fellow-blippers. I shall be sure to tell you when all is well again.

Another Sunday. Online (zoom) church service: we're not re-opening till 6th August, and then it'll be the midweek Eucharist that we start with, keeping the online Sunday services till September till we see how things pan out. And despite the disappointing weather, with rather more rain than the forecast suggested, we managed out for a dry walk along Loch Eck side (though we drove through rain both going and returning). I was interested to see a single Highland cow in the field of Belted Galloways; she was making much of a calf that appeared more belted than highland. Could she be a foster-mother? 

I've blipped the view of the loch as we approached its eastern end; the dark water closest to us is a feature of this steep-sided piece of water, though the blue sky helps to lighten it on a day like this. But I can't resist another red squirrel photo as an extra; there were at least three of them playing crazily on the tree with the feeding box, as two of them seemed to be teasing one that wanted to have its tea. Their feet make a wonderful scrabbling noise on the bark, and they move with lightening speed.

There's been a rise in the hitherto minimal level of corona virus in Scotland. I suppose it's to be expected as lockdown eases, but it's depressing nevertheless. Last night I realised as I was going to bed how much I've enjoyed the total silence of lockdown nights: at 1am there was bedlam somewhere in the town below where I live, and the drunken yells went on for some time after I'd closed the window and got to bed. My family have all gone off on holidays as planned; the odd photo I've seen shows them all looking wonderfully happy in bright sunshine. 

I could cope better, I think, if the temperature would rise a bit here. Like ... April?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.