a lifetime burning

By Sheol

High Wire Artist

Tiny Tuesday: High Wire Artist

It was all very well for people to tell him that he'd be fine.  He'd been right up for the idea when it was originally suggested, the previous evening.  And yes, the few drinks that he had drunk had helped, as had the look of admiration in the compound eyes of the  attractive female he'd been talking to.

A highwire walk over the pond - what could possibly go wrong?   After all, he had wings and could fly, even if the high wire in question was a sticky spider thread.

But now that he stood on the precipice about to take those first few faltering steps, he was beginning to realise that he might have made a mistake.  There was a nasty side wind which kept catching his wings, pushing him off balance with its unpredictable gusts. 

But, far worse than that, no one had mentioned that the pond was inhabited.  There were, fish...

The fish in the pond were huge, and they'd definitely seen him now.  He had assumed that there might be a frog or a newt, perhaps even a few goldfish, but these things were killer koi, and easily a foot long.... and their mouths!  One of the more agressive ones had just cleared the water completely in its effort to reach him.  If he fell and didn't manage to get under powered flight quickly he would be lunch before he could say "blip rules forever".

Perhaps discretion was the better part of valour?

I popped over to see my sister earlier on, and had originally intended to blip her today.  However, the range of faces that she pulled when I pointed the camera at her mean that she wouldn't thank me for blipping any of them.  Don't get me wrong, there are some cracking shots there and she and I could hoot with laughter about a couple of the expressions captured - but I dare not share them.

As you will see from Incredibish's shot today, I've not been to the barber's since the end of February, and the "No 1.5 of the back and sides" cut that I have traditionally worn for a while now has rather grown out.  At my usual rate of a haircut every 3 weeks I've missed 7 or perhaps 8 haircuts now.  Sadly what my growing hair very much emphasises is that my forehead also seems to be growing too, either that or my hair is slipping backwards under its own weight.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.