a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Wild Swimming

Wide Wednesday: Wild Swimming

The local river has been busy with swimmers this year.  Perhaps it is  a reaction to people's inability to go away to foreign beaches as they would normally have done?  I'm not too sure that I fancy it myself on health grounds :-)

At one stage the village had major traffic problems as visitors cars caused gridlock.  Parking restrictions and some judicious policing seem to have sorted out the problem and things have settled down a bit now.  As you can see, the river is still very popular, even so.

This shot is a bit of a cop out on my part.  In the end I've chosen to taken a shot from the cycle track bridge looking down on the river, although my preference for wide angled shots is to get up close to my foreground subject.  I did walk along the banks looking for a shot, but couldn't bring myself to do it.  Most of the people enjoying the weather and the river are strangers a good 30 to 40 years my junior and wearing swimming costumes.  I couldn't see any of them taking kindly to me trying to get a shot with a 14mm lens from a couple of feet away :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.