KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Cool and Gray

The whole day was unseasonably cool and gray - it even misted a bit midday. The sun is just peeking through now, at 6 pm. But this is the cool calm before the intense heat arrives for Sunday and Monday when it is forecast to be 101 F. Not unheard of, but hardly usual. So much for those lovely temperate loving plants in my garden. I fear that the hydrangeas will call it quits. Maybe it's time to replace these tender heat-sensitive plants with something else. We'll see.

Be that as it may, my sister arranged a FaceTime with my parents today which was wonderful. She set her laptop on my mom's lap and we talked for a long time, then with my dad. So good to see them!

The garden was just full of lovely photos this afternoon. It was hard to choose what to blip, but have settled on these two. I blipped this dahlia about a week ago - this very same blossom. Look what's happened to it! It's completely changed color! (Fake raindrops aside that is.) It looks more and more like a marvelous underwater creature doesn't it?

I was wandering around with my spray bottle (you know I love a drippy blip) and I found a bumble bee stuffed into the blossom of a California Poppy (see extras). I couldn't resist...mean human that I am....yes, sprayed the blossom 'cause I wanted a drippy photo. You know the bee wasn't really happy with me, so backed on out pretty quickly and flew off after giving me a good look in the eye. 

Happy Friday everyone! I think I'm going to take a break from the news this weekend and try to forget what's swirling on in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.