Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

J3K is still going

Day 135 of Shielding

It's not been easy shielding, there have been many dark days and even now as shielding will shortly be suspended the sense of unease going out is high and it will be a long time before I feel really comfortable.

I read this morning a story of a lady who was celebrating her 50th anniversary of her kidney transplant.  I pray to God that I can also achieve the same result.  Ever since this COVID-19 nightmare began I have been worried about how my kidney health is holding up, not being able to go out, not being able to buy my own food, worried about putting on too much weight and then of course appointments cancelled so I wasn't getting my regular blood test checks.  I have had moments, I still have, where my fear of going back to Big D hell overwhelms me.  I will do everything in my power to make sure my health comes first and that I gain those 50 years of having my life back.

It's the Virtual Walk for Life weekend for Kidney Wales this weekend and today I went and did my first walk to raise some funds for the charity.  It was a steep climb today and I kept going, the kidney was happy to keep giving me energy to do it.  Knowing that I can do it lifts my heart.  If you've got a few spare pennies you can sponsor me by clicking here.

It was also my first solo walk since this nightmare begun.  I drove to a quiet place and went for a walk in the forestry, not many people around.  I'm back out again tomorrow with a friend.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  The wonderful gift of life that my friend Geoff gave me, he'll be happy his kidney is still keeping me going
2.  A nice solo walk away from crowds
3.  Another delicious bread I've made

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.