DERELICT SUNDAY

We had a good service at online Church, after which we went out to try and find some dereliction.  We didn’t go far, because later this afternoon, instead of afternoon tea with our neighbours, we are going over to our son’s so that Mr. HCB can watch football with our son and grandson and I will chat with our daughter-in-law - well would you really expect us to watch football?

On our way towards Liddington Hill, we were almost involved in a very serious road accident as an idiot someone driving an Audi, which was obviously in the wrong lane, went straight across our bonnet - thank goodness we drive a Honda Jazz that has a very compact bonnet, otherwise I dread to think of the consequences.  Mr. HCB was rather shaken by the incident, so I was glad that we didn’t have far to go.  I just wish I had managed to get the registration of the car involved.

We knew that there was a huge derelict barn along the road to Badbury, so decided to go along and see what we could find.  I have blipped this before, but then there was a gate over the barn entrance, but today it was open, so I ventured inside.  It was only when I came out, having taken this photograph, that I noted it said on the gate that there were security cameras and security alarms - ah well, they won’t know who I am, so I should be safe!

It looked as if all the detritus inside could have been old hospital stuff - with mattresses, broken beds and sides off beds plus other trolleys and rubbish, much of it rusting metal, so perhaps it is going for scrap.  In any event, there was a huge machine outside that was probably a farm implement of some sort and in the background, you can see Liddington Hill, with the trees on top.

After I had taken this shot, we drove along to the end of the road where we parked and ate our sandwiches, looking out on the beautiful cornfield and up to Liddington Hill - I have put a shot in as an extra so that you can see our view - and on the left you can see the barn.

It was a beautiful afternoon, with blue skies and gorgeous clouds - the sort of summer afternoon that makes you feel good to be alive, even if there is lots happening in the world.  We saw a few cyclists and walkers and a few cars, but on the whole, it was quite quiet where we were, so we didn’t even need to wear a mask, which was great.  

Mr. HCB has an appointment with the optician tomorrow so he will have to wear a mask, but I will just drop him off and then drive around the block until he calls me to collect him.  In fact, having read of the scuffles and awful things that are happening in supermarkets with people who are wearing masks judging those who aren’t and causing mayhem, I don’t think we will be going into any shops for a long time.

“I like ruins because what remains
     is not the total design, 
          but the clarity of thought, 
               the naked structure, 
                    the spirit of the thing.”
Tadao Ando

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.