A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Gathering Mushrooms

Up early to make Blueberry Wheatgerm Muffins for breakfast, then headed outside. I did my usual daily walk-about the yard to see how plants are doing, to look for monarch caterpillars in the milkweed and then find any veggies needing to be picked, before watering the garden. Sadly it’s a “no” on the cats :( but I did harvest two zucchinis :) • I noticed more than 20 little mushrooms had appeared overnight in a small patch of dewy grass. I’ve since discovered they are common lawn mushrooms and grow in Europe and North America • Known as Mower’s Mushrooms, they spring up on lawns that are regularly mowed and without artificial fertilizers or herbicides. Typically brown in color but they’ll grow white in dry areas • Don’t eat them! • Our small area of mushrooms reminded me of a favorite song by the group Clannad, Gathering Mushrooms - have you heard it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.