Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Back On Skis

How great to be back on skis in the sunshine. The weather certainly beat Glenshee in February or Formigal in January. Such a cheap holiday, being at home on the front lawn!

I haven't skied for over 25 years but I'd always wanted to do a pretend blip on snow but the winters recently haven't provided enough white cover and the skis weren't easily accessible in the shed.

Today, katkatkat reached the skis in the roof frame, 4 pairs of them. These were mine, the second pair I had but the first bought new for me when the fashion was for compacts about 40 years ago. My first sticks showed up better on the white than the more modern ones.

By lunchtime I was ordering a second mini skip. We are getting on so well. The Mate came round to join in the barbeque fun and shared memories of bits of stuff from my former jewellery business as they came out of the shed.

By teatime one of The Mate's tool contacts came round and took away all The Man's family woodworking tools and my unwanted stone cutting gear. He will clean things up and sell them or send tools to Africa via a charity.

A very satisfying day and the marquee is proving invaluable for sorting stuff and sheltering from sun or showers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.