Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Nearly Done!

The day began with the alarm ringing at 6am to wake me up to go running with katkatkat. We started in the village with our 5 minute warm-up walk, then we got the instruction from the app to run. Well she left me at the speed of an intercity train: I has left like Puffing Billy! I now realise I'm not really running, hardly jogging but I try my best.

So, it's Saturday and we have a 9am start at cleaning the lodge. We wonder what #2 Daughter will have found to put in the skip before we get home. Thankfully she found bags of stones which kept her occupied during our absence.

The shed is now almost empty. A few thing have been put back in to go elsewhere in due course. What was still in, waiting for enough folk to carry it out was this old green dresser. I had to have a photo to preserve its memory in this journal. It was in our home before I was born. For long enough it was the only set of cupboards in the kitchen and the only worktop though later we got a kitchen cabinet when the set pot came out.

The right -hand side draw contained cutlery and pan lids, the left, dusters. The right hand cupboard stored pans, a peg basket, an iron, then later a toaster. The left hand cupboard was the important one. It was for my toys!

This piece of pine furniture remained in my mum's kitchen until the council fitted units in 1985. After that it came to live in this position in our shed. It's in the skip now. Life moves on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.