KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

The 2nd Hot Day

It's currently 100 F outside at 5:00 pm. Here in western Oregon (and other western US states) it's hottest late in the afternoon. I remember when I lived in Massachusetts it would be hot midday and cool down by late afternoon. Not here. However, the temps will fall to 58F tonight thank goodness with tomorrow forecast to only be 88 F.

Needless to say I taught class this morning and then, with the exception of a couple of watering and blip visits to the garden, I worked inside today.

Yesterday when I visited my co-grandmother and our grandchildren, she gave me a Datura plant - I haven't researched it enough to know which species it is, but the flower is exquisite. She knew it would bloom last night, which it did...a heavenly fragrance and a yellow flower. This morning as it was fading it was a pinky coral color. I need to find it an appropriate place in a really big pot (she says) in the garden with its pot in the cool shade and the plant in the sun. I think I have just the place.

Hope you've all had a magnificent beginning to your week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.