Road trip to up north day 7

Bye bye Continental Europe!

We’re on a ferry taking us from Tallinn Estonia to Helsinki Finland. The journey is under 50km and will take about 2 hours. Poor dogs are in the car while we are on ship drinking coffee.

As we had to drive so long yesterday to find a place to sleep, this morning we only had 20 minutes to harbour and we were able to take the dogs for a long walk to the woods. We woke up at 3 am (sharp!) to horrible thunderstorm which was right above us. So the woods were damp and the dogs needed a proper shower to their southern regions. That hasn’t happened much during last years.

It was pouring down when we were at the harbour waiting to be driving into the ferry. Luckily before rain I managed to get the dogs out for their business.

So the picture is from the ferry and you can see the Tallinn harbour in rain. There’s some sad beauty to the picture.

Once we get off the ferry we’ll drive to my parent’s house to get our keys. My mum has done some grocery shopping for us.

I have no idea what waits for us. I don’t know if we have any kettles or such to make anything in the kitchen. I have packed instant coffee and we do have a water boiling device to make coffee in the morning and then we go from that.

We shipped 3 boxes a week before we left. Those will arrive tomorrow evening or Thursday morning. My dad and our son will bring whatever stuff we still have at our son’s place on 7th. We don’t know yet what the plan is for our stuff that went with the van and that are at my in-laws‘ place.

We don’t have any internet yet at the house. Just our mobile connections. We’ll see how long it will take to get that up and running. Shouldn’t take long, I assume.

Maybe tomorrow I can already go shop for some paints??? Who knows or I’ll crash down from all of this and the journey. I assume I’ll be loaded with energy and ready to go.

So not really home yet, but assumably before this evening. It’ll be an hour and 20min(?) from my parent’s place.

We need to use navigation device to find home that we own. Imagine that!

Ps. We’re sitting outside in a roofed terrace area to avoid crowds and people. Being safe all the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.