Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Juicy meets a wee terror on the Links

As soon as Archie had gone off with Robert, we went for our 10.30 appointment at the city dump. It felt good to get rid of assorted junk we’d been hoarding just because we had a ‘bike shed’, but no bikes. Good to dispose of batteries and empty gas cannisters properly.

Back home, and I got a text to say that the bike was ready to pick up. They fixed it (an important bit was bent slightly when we fell on the concrete path) and also fixed the display, which didn’t seem to connect to the battery. The bit where it should have connected, amazingly enough, was slightly rusted. ‘But it’s a brand new bike,’ I squeaked. Anyway, £20 later, I’m happy.

I took it down to the putting green, which was devoid of putters, but has nice short grass and rolling hillocks. I practiced what I’d seen on the cycling for kids videos - going very slowly but trying to keep balanced, not gripping the handles too tightly, using only one hand sometimes. But mainly, starting and stopping with a modicum of dignity. I think I’m getting better.

Quite far off, I spotted a person with a wee dog, so I headed over to them. He’s only a few months old and his name is Wee Terror. His mum was very interested in the electric bike, as her elderly cyclist dad needs a bit of help now. Wee Terror wasn’t good at sitting, but eventually I got him in the right place. 

I realised that I only needed the motor at its lowest setting,1, and I could effortlessly pedal up the hillocks - which would have been quite tough on soggy grass. Marvellous! I even rode all the way home (uphill) without puffing.

Pretzel and her mum arrived with belated birthday flowers, Zoe came for a visit, and Robert and Archie arrived back at the same time, so we sat inside and had scones which JR made while I was out biking. Most pleasant to have people sitting around the coffee table again.

Pretzel’s mum warned us about multiple bicycle thefts in the area, and so we’ll have to get the shed even more secure, and even secure the bikes inside the shed. We could fit them inside the house, but then we’d have a newly empty bike shed, which is silly.

Farewell-to-our-neighbours BBQ tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.