WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Frank Fixes Broken Brolly (in extra)

POUND SHOP BROLLY

I have been discarded
Cast away in disgust
I didn't serve my purpose
So on the pavement I was thrust

Now, here I lie in the wet
While hundreds of feet splash by
It's not my fault I'm substandard
I tried to keep you dry

My spokes are all bent now
My fabric clings to the ground
I didn't even last a day
But what do you expect for a pound?

You've only yourself to blame
You know, if you got wet today
You bought a Pound shop brolly
For quality you have to pay

Imported by the thousands
We flood your rainy cities
From China to your landfill
Such a waste, such a pity

I wish I'd been good quality
And didn't blow inside out
I would have done a proper job
For years, there is no doubt

Now I'll have to lie here
Till the street cleaner comes by
Just another broken brolly
Victim of demand and supply

Lizzie Birkett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.