Disheartening

Today was an interesting day.  I decided to try another grocery pick-up to see if the items that weren't in stock a few days ago might be available.  Unfortunately, about half of what I ordered at QFC wasn't found, particularly the no salt added items. So I decided to try ordering from Safeway and arranged a pick-up time in the early evening.  Arriving at 8340 15th Ave NorthEAST, I realized that I should be at 8340 15th Ave NorthWEST.  That required a trip of several miles and when I got there the street was closed off by police cars.  I managed to find a back way into the parking lot and got my groceries. 

Driving out of the lot, I spotted these tents on the sidewalk just outside.  The homeless folks had chosen a shady spot that would allow them access to the facilities in the store.  It's the first time I saw tents on the sidewalk in a quiet residential neighborhood and it was disheartening.  No one should have to live like that.

Safeway had most of the items I needed, but it's still not possible to get Kleenex or toilet tissue.  I'll have to look online again.  Looking forward to seeing the twins tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.