ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

August

Up until lunchtime today, our appointment calendar for next month was completely empty. Normally, any given month would be full of concerts, theatre trips, gym classes, PT sessions, medical appointments, etc, etc. But since March everything has been cancelled, rescheduled or just plain not available to book any more. Mind you, there’s a lot of concerts now booked in for the latter half of next year - here’s hoping we won’t still be stuck with this virus by then.
If truth be told, August was deliberately being kept clear when we were starting to fill the diary at the end of last year. We were hoping Mum’s house would be well sold by then, she would be settled with my sister and we could go on a well deserved summer holiday. The house sold on 11th March but before we had a chance to start looking at holidays, we were plunged into full lockdown on the 23rd. Fast forward to today, and I’m very grateful we didn’t rush into booking something. Even if it had gone ahead, the latest news from Europe would suggest we’d have ended up in quarantine when we got back. Every cloud and all that!
But everything changed on the diary front after lunch - first of all I was able to book a gym session for the first day of reopening on 1st August. After four months away, I suspect I’ll be heading for the lighter weights though!
And just before posting this Blip, the dentist phoned. My check up appointment, which I assumed had been cancelled, is going ahead after all. This is not good news as I hate the dentist and would have been more than happy not to have to go!!
As it looks like things may be picking up now, I’d better start filling in that calendar - I’d hate to find my social life is so hectic I’m double booked at some point!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.