Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Pellucid fly on hemp agrimony

I saw this rather large fly on the hemp agrimony.  A bit far from the edge of the patch, making it difficult to see.  I got just one photo before he decided to depart.

On consulting Mr Google, I see that he is most likely to be a Pellucid hoverfly.  Well, there we go - another new species identified - they're not rare, but this is the first one I've noticed in our garden.

In other news, I've continued with the relatively mindless task of scanning those bits of my needlework magazines that I want to keep, with a view to advertising and disposing of the magazines to someone who can make better use of them.  There are 36 magazine boxes, each containing around 20 to 24 magazines.  So a total of about 800 magazines!  I'm chuffed with my progress, I've already been through over 80 (so a 10th) over the last couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.