KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

More Heat

I'll stop complaining about the heat one of these days....that's all I'll say about that for now.

But it's always lovely in the morning, and today was no exception. I got out to the garden quite early, just after my class Zoom meeting. There were a lot of bees around, and I caught the Swallowtail butterfly in the distance, but it wasn't interested in me today. The Chickadees were flitting around in the tree in the front garden, and one landed on a cosmos seed head and proceeded to eat breakfast. But I was too far away and of course had the wrong lens in hand. Such a joy just to take time to sit in the garden and watch the goings-on.

I know that I posted a bee enjoying a Helenium autumnale bloom recently. What can I say...they are in magnificent full bloom and the bees don't care that I'm a foot away. But this time I'm going to tell you WHY the common name is Sneezeweed. Formerly, the dried leaves were used to make snuff, inhaled to cause sneezing that would supposedly rid the body of evil spirits. All sorts of thoughts and visuals come into my head, but probably best not to share them here :-)

Happy Thursday! The weekend (and cooler weather) is almost here! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.