KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Quiet Friday

A quick round of golf this morning (I played horribly) followed by an afternoon at my desk finishing up preparations for week 6 of my class (next week). There's a light at the end of the tunnel now!

But I was keeping an eye on the garden through the kitchen window...looking for dragonflies or butterflies. I'm thinking that I need to change out some of my garden plants so that I attract more butterflies. The only two I ever see are a Western Swallowtail and the Cabbage Moth. However, I did see a lovely red dragonfly alight on a trellis and I grabbed my camera with new zoom lens. It was a baby I think...quite small. It let me take one photo and zipped away. 

After a few minutes of waiting quietly, this lovely came along. I've never seen one like this. iNaturalist (app on my phone) says it's a female Common Whitetail. The male has a very white tail. Isn't the brown lovely? 

I'm very intrigued...I have several metal trellises in my garden and when the dragonflies land, they always land on one of them. I wonder why?

Of course it's Flower Friday, you'd think I'd post a flower wouldn't you? Well, there will be others!

Happy Friday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.