Our first Gatekeeper in the garden

At least, this is the first one I’ve spotted.  I think they are among my favourite butterflies.  As long as I keep some marjoram in the garden they return each year.  Despite it’s huge size in the image, they are actually quite small butterflies.

There were also large and small whites, a peacock and a small tortoiseshell flying yesterday.

What else:
I cleared some more of the front garden and trimmed back the Magnolia.
I attempted to make chocolate brownies using a recipe that I probably won’t try again.  It’s very rich and fudge and I’m sure it will be delicious but very highly calorific.  At the moment it’s under lock-down in the fridge.

We’re intending to go to Bempton Cliffs this morning, so I need to be gathering myself together, waking Ann, and be ready to set off my 7am.  I think the roads may be busy today as it’s forecast to be very hot.  We’re picking Debbie up on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.