Our Monday climbing group, a spin off from the mountaineering club, now meets on Fridays as well and we went to Gardom's Edge today. We thought it would be cool beneath the trees, and it would've been if Apple Buttress had had trees, but it doesn't. 

We had 4 leaders but 2 didn't feel like it, and 2 non-leaders, one of whom is new to outdoors and has never belayed a lead climber. She's in my Ramblers group and wants to get into trad, so we need to find some very easy routes for her to practise belaying and she was talking about doing a one day course too. Today we introduced her to lay backing and she had a little try as it was near the ground. Only jamming, mantling and smearing to go!

I lead Apple Crack* VDiff and didn't really enjoy it until I'd done it. I got a massive dose of adrenaline on the way up which has the effect of immediate headache, followed by tiredness. I'd like (I think) to do it again in a calmer manner.

J didn't fancy leading the route in the photo so Mary took over and belayed from the halfway ledge, then J lead the top bit. The rest of us struggled up it on top rope, all using our knees (oops). I seconded it a couple of months after I began climbing, but in those days I knew nothing!

Too hot for grit today, but lovely to return to a cool house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.