Photogen

By Photogen

Traditional wooden beer mug and side dish

Some years ago I visited the rural Estonian island of Saaremaa. It was a stopping-off point on a National Trust for Scotland cruise and the stalls of the local crafts people were set up on the pier where they eagerly awaited our arrival. Because of the size of many cruise ships not many were able to berth at their small pier, so we received an enthusiastic welcome.
It's a remote community and the islanders have always brewed their own beer, among other things. Their exquisitely carved wooden beer mugs with little lids caught my eye - they were so light and beautifully constructed. I bought one and also a little wooden dish. The two have been sitting on a shelf on display in my kitchen since my return but I decided they merited their own Blipfoto.
I set them on a leaded mirror and used the natural soft window light from the left. The mirror picked up the deep green tones from a Vlaminck print I had on the wall giving a pleasing contrast. I set up my tripod to avoid camera shake with a shutter speed of only 1/25th. This lighting and the reflective surface I hope does justice to the craftsmanship exhibited in these everyday objects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.