Cheery

Most of my dish towels are so old that you can see through them.  Clearly it was time to purchase some new ones, and I chose these cheerful yellow checked white ones.  I love that shade of yellow.

I needed some cheering today because the noise pollution has reached an intolerable pitch.  If I have my windows open, I can't hear anything in my apartment because of the roar outside, mainly from the auto body shop across the alley.  And it's too hot to close the windows.  Just in the last ten minutes, there were two separate caravans of police cars and fire trucks careening up the avenue with their sirens wailing - and they were not the only ones today.  I can usually count on them blaring through once or twice during the late evening.  

I bought some ear plugs yesterday which dampen the noise a bit, but they don't stay in  and they don't allow me to hear the TV either.  I do all right during the Fall and Winter because I can keep the windows closed, but in Summer it's unbearable.  There ought to be some ordinance about the noise, but this is a mixed zoning area (commercial and residential) and apparently nothing can be done.  I tried contacting our local TV ombudsman to get him interested, but they are full up on stories.

It's gone quiet now, thank goodness, and perhaps it will remain so.  I hope all of you are having peaceful quiet days with your loved ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.