(Not) The Festival

Things should have kicked off at the end of the week with previews and two for one offers. The Tattoo was due to start next Friday. A year ago my visitors from KL arrived ready to take in the Festival vibe. This year the vibe was very different.

After much longer than I planned to take on Choir admin I walked into town (yes walked!) on what was a really nice walking day, warm and much less humid than yesterday. No Speigeltent in George Sq Gardens, no bars at Potterrow however I did manage to get an outside table (before it got busy) at 56 North for lunch. It felt good to be doing what I'd normally be doing at this time of year, sitting outside, eating and drinking and watching the world go by.

After walked to the Royal Mile and up to the standless Esplanade. The Castle re-opened in a limited way today so there were folk around. The Royal Mile and Princes St were much busier than the last time I was there in May but of course some shops are open. The bars that are open (and not all are, a couple of guys were staring in open mouthed amazement at a closed Spoonie's on Waverley Bridge) were busy with folk, like me, eating and drinking outside. There was no social distancing on the pavements but taking my risk based approach this doesn't alarm me.

Sat alone on a bench in East Princes Street Gardens and watched the world go by. I felt a bit like a tourist in my own home town. It was good too see perlagoniums replace the big wheel. Then via a few shops in Cockburn Street back home on the bus.

Then up to a near deserted Sainsbury's at Straiton (still haven't been in Cameron Toll) for some groceries and finally a quick cycle down to E's to drop off keys. My step count was well up.

C is off camping so I luxuriated in having the house to myself. Last time that happened was last November and last time I was the only living creature in my home? Sometime in 2010 probably, pre Molly and when #3 soon was off somewhere. Watched the end of the last 'Les Dames' and a really rubbish romcom.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.