Spotted settling for the night

Went out for a late afternoon jog. Almost a run, except that I walked the steeper rises; only one would justify being called a hill. Along the Arch Hill Reserve walkway. Only one cyclist going the other way, and one dog walker who either went up one of the the side paths to the streets, or ran faster than I was.

I'd seen him in front of me with his dog when this spotted dove flew overhead and into a tree. I spent a few minutes getting some photographs of it and also of some sparrows in a nearby tree. And didn't see him again.

Feels really good to move more quickly than a walk, and do so for a half hour.

ADDITIONAL:
I've added as an extra a photo of a manhole cover in Home Street. Speedway Steam Products Ltd is mentioned in the NZ Gazette of 27 September 1945. In a list of businesses deemed to be essential businesses by Government on 21 September 1945. In 1947 the company was renamed Speedway Products Ltd, perhaps because they had stopped making stoves and heating products. In 1955 the company was liquidated. The reason was not recorded in what I saw.

This piece of iron streetware has lasted very much longer than the company that made it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.