No wire now

A few days ago I wrote about taking S' father's old chair to a furniture restorer for restoration. In a slightly throwaway comment I mentioned that in some ignorance of the art of furniture restoration, I undertook some remedial work on a chair I had bought for a pittance (even for a student it was a bargain price).

The arms were worn. The legs were loose, and bound together with fencing wire to give a semblance of stability. I took it back to the wood, and applied a new wood stain. Took the legs out and then reglued them, allowing the wire to be disposed of. S made me a green velvet cushion. It has been retired and I have another cushion.

The desk is a reclaimed public service desk. Next to the computer is another reclaimed public service office piece, where mail would be put for staff. I now use it to store stationery. It is some time since I have needed to use very much of what is in there. Partly due to change in my work, and partly due to the increased electronic nature of communication in the 21st century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.