Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Yard

Useless fact for the day: the expression "Give him an inch and he'll take a mile" was originally "give him an inch and he'll take an ell". An ell, apparently, was a unit of measurement, an arm's length, from which the word elbow is derived.

But what to do with a yard? Take photos in it, of course!

Today's Blip almost falls into the territory of that first idiom, while being placed geographically and literally into the second. I have used a picture of some weeds (sorry, wildflowers) in a derelict yard near Banknock to combine my Derelict Sunday entry with my Wild Flower Week entry. Killing two birds with one stone, as it were.

No birds were, in fact, harmed in the taking of this photo. The English language did not fare so well, however, being somewhat mangled in its posting to this journal. I blame the alphabetti spaghetti myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.