Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Emergency Stop!

A trip to Dartmoor for the 3rd day in a row, this time to meet up with friends who had invited me to join them for breakfast .

I was early (because I had to take the car down the lane before it was dug up to repair a water pipe) so headed up onto the moor to get a landscape shot under billowing clouds and blue skies.

As I approached the top of the hill I noticed this pony on the grass verge, flat out and not moving. Many of the sheep, cattle and ponies who roam free get run over by speeding, thoughtless drivers. Fearing the worst,
I pulled over and ran across the road hoping that I had a signal to phone for a vet.

The pony did not move for several minutes but I could see it breathing.
I touched it's muzzle. Still no movement.
Still thinking it had been hit by a car I started checking it all over when suddenly it gave an enormous snore and woke up. 
Still no movement except it's eyes were now open, gazing at me and no doubt wondering what the hell I was doing.
I went back to the car, got the camera and took several shots before it sat up, satisfying me that it was ok.

I wasn't put off my breakfast after all 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.