The West Port Garden

Edinburgh is being reclaimed by tourists and I am selfish in my response. It was pleasant while it lasted to have the streets back to us the residents, but the economy has to recover and I have to bite the bullet and dodge round groups of strangers undecided about what or where they are going as they straddle the pavements and gaze at maps.

I was on my way through the Grassmarket to blip the hitherto hidden to me lovely little oasis of garden in the WestPort. The eateries in the pedestrianised part of the former were doing a roaring business, probably as a result of the Government subsidy during every Monday Tuesday and Wednesday during August which halves the cost of a meal as long as you sit in. I was gratefully surprised that even Soderberg had signed up to the deal which meant I had a cheap coffee this morning.

I came home to a letter from RBS telling me that I can expect zero% on my savings account. I might as well take up a floorboard and put my money underneath. The next letter I’m expecting is one from the BBC licensing department..........it was nice while it lasted thanks mainly to His Lordship but for the last 5 years to me as well.

I haven’t even discussed the ludicrous suggestion that the over 50s should be shielded from Covid. Perhaps it should be the young people flocking to the beaches and parks in their hundreds who should be locked up. It’s little wonder that there are spikes in the disease all over the country when the youth have decided the rest of us are expendable and it’s time to party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.