Drookit

The rain did raineth all day long, which was not pleasant, and the wind joined in making it a proper Scottish August summer day. It was the kind of day that happened frequently in my childood holidays in the Highlands when all you could do was settle down in front of the fire with a good book.

As luck would have it, it was a day to deliver some baking to Maggie’s so I girded my loins in waterproofs and hiked 6 miles there and back looking more and more bedraggled with every mile. Road closures near the hospital meant it wasn’t obvious which buses were available where, so I just kept walking. Sodden clothes removed back home and out for a half price coffee and a comfy seat, equanimity was restored.

With the HigherLeaving Certificate results out today, I messaged my granddaughter to see how she had fared and hearing that she got the full complement of As, I decided to celebrate by baking a chocolate cake for her family using Munroist’s recipe. I’m now hoping that her Mama will remember to stop off and pick it up on her way home from work. There is no way I am going out in the wind and rain to deliver it myself.

It’s been quite a stressful time for my granddaughter and her younger sister who did well in her Nat 5s because they didn’t sit the exams but were accredited with grades which took in their prelim results, course work and teachers’ reports. It meant that they had no way of knowing how things would finally work out as the exam board could also examine the school’s assessment.

Now to settle down with my book...... but no fire unfortunately.

My blip was the only one taken during my walk, a drookit ragwort. The extra is the celebratory cake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.