Crays

It's time for the annual Crayfish season. My neighbour who tends The Pond nearby puts lots of these little cages out with a bate inside, that attracts the crayfish. Once in, they can't get out.They are grey in colour but after being put into boiling water they go completely red. They die instantly -they say. I don't eat them myself, not because I don't like the taste, more because I don't like the tedious routines and traditions around eating them. There's not a lot of meat on them and getting to it takes knowledge and time. Tradition also craves a lot of strong white spirits being drunk so creyfish-parties are usually long, noisy and contains a lot of bad singing too through long parts of the august night. I am a minority group though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.