The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Yet another jigsaw

I have to tackle another one from the tottering pile so I can sell a few more so I can pay my eBay fees.

Not much got done today. I walked to town to post a parcel and collect train tickets. Checked out some places to eat, as I have friends visiting Stroud tomorrow. Not many places have signed up for the Chancellor's 'Eat out to help out' scheme, which does not benefit those famines too poor to contemplate eating out in the first place.

When I got home I read the paper and then went to have a rest. It was that sort of afternoon. My uncle rang, out of the blue, to recommend a book he'd read. It's called Dying to be Me, by Anita Moorjani. Amongst other things, it discusses tht author's Near-Death Experience. My uncle had such an experience himself, when he was shot in the stomach, when we lived in Ireland. (No, not The Troubles, but a shooting accident). I was only a child at the time, his family lived nearby, and all I remember was a great commotion, and his being in hospital. In fact he'd had to drive himself to the nearest hospital, because the 'friend' who had shot him in jest was in shock. That hospital turned out to be a maternity hospital, but in 1970 a man could just walk into a women's hospital and scream 'Help, I've been shot!' without being mistaken for a mental health crisis patient, so that is what he did. And eventually he was transferred to another hospital, and eventually he came home, looking fragile.

So, fifty years after his accident, I've ordered the book. It should come in time for my holiday. Right now I'm watching the final episode of Mrs America. What a series! What a soundtrack!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.