Rothenburg, GERMANY

This was unexpected.  Even as I drove to Marktbreit yesterday, I already noticed the road signs showing that it was a mere 65 km. or so away, so close.  Would I get the time to see it?  As it turned out, Grunhilde was more anxious to show it to me than she was to show me Marktbreit!  We just HAD to go together ...

... but in separate cars because she wanted to take her dog for a walk in a wooded area nearby.  We were at the breakfast table by 08.00, as agreed, but with all the yakkety-yak and sharing of various things (I had given her a copy of my book soonest I arrived yesterday), we ended up leaving at a little past 10.  Wasn't I too late because I still had the long drive back to Breda?  Not at all, I assured her.  First, though, I filled up the tank as the drive yesterday had practically emptied it (744 km.). Then a short walking tour of Marktbreit, then off to Rothenburg.

It did not disappoint, but the weather was not promising.  There were so many things she wanted me to see, and I was very thankful.  I usually explore alone, as you know, and so I most likely miss a little thing or two (the big things are obvious and can't be missed, of course), but she took care to point out small details in the architecture and some shops I might like.  I even ended up buying a beautiful teapot and cake dish, as the one I have at home was originally bought for AW's mother and she had hardly used it so I got it back and now I wanted one to replace it as I have already earmarked that other one for a friend.  I treated Grunhilde to a really sumptuous and hefty lunch, so filling that I could not finish my order and had the rest wrapped up for AW to sample when I got back.  We explored a part of the city walls, a generous portion of which was still intact and even in use, and then the downpour came.  The nearest cafe owner was very thankful as he suddenly had a rush of otherwise very wet customers.  Grunhilde bought drinks and we continued our lively chatter till the rain was done.  Back to the old streets and then it was time to get back to the cars as it was by now almost 16.00 and I had already decided to use the infamous A3 as it would be more effective than if I had to look for the A61 connection to the west or use the much longer A7.  We agreed that I will return one day, preferably in the week so that she can show me the interior of the Marktbreit Town Hall, and also preferably for at least three nights so that we can explore Wurzburg together -- we enthusiastically look forward to that treat!  Two extras ...

Left at about 15.55, home by 22.10 = 6 hours 15 minutes.  The A3 wasn't so bad and I knew this from a month back, when I used it after the Frankfurt weekend.  Oh what fun it is to explore with a friend!  AW was okay, as I thought he would be, and I was tired, though not extremely so.  The one thing on my mind, though, was how to retrieve the files from the dead laptop.  Priority for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.